When is the time to switch to plan B?

The context of this volume is a simple plan. Not the band, of course.

This afternoon, I decided to go for a jog at Rajamangala National Stadium in Bangkok. I can’t recall when was the last time I jog. The motives are health, psychological, and adventure as well. I allocated 2 hours to do this activity including travel time to the venue.

The stadium is approximately 6 km or 4 miles from where I was staying, and the preferred means of transport is by bus.

In the first quarter, one factor that was not calculated in my estimate appear: traffic jam. I should have known better. There, I could have switched to plan B, but curiosity and commitment abated my doubt. I stayed hopeful.

By midway, it was raining hard. This ought to be the sign to switch. A much clearer sign since it directly affects my initial plan to jog outdoor. I wait not for another sign to abandon the bus and headback. Plus, for a city like Bangkok, traffic jam and rain is equal to uncertainty. A decision should not floating around in the sea of uncertainty.

So, how was I doing? Poorly. Eventhough I switch to the plan midway before it got even worse, I still lost the time allocated for the activity without the plan being carried out. My conclusion? For average level of daily decision, switch at the first point you question your decision (by first quarter), and when two previously not-calculated factors make the scene! This way, we can move to other plans especially those with higher level of priority.

Best!

Leave a Reply

